Zombie Diver – CASE Zer0


Before I get started on the actual topic,  I guess ill introduce myself a little bit.   I am in my early 30’s and have been diving for not very long(since 2010) And I am currently based out of Macau/Hong Kong.  I grew up in Australia,  and the Ocean has always been part of my life,  although I must say for the most of my life, I spent observing sharks from the shore, and not from underwater.  I got certified in Australia in less than perfect Conditions,  Fairly cold water and bad visibility,  it was so bad in fact that my Girlfriend could not complete her course right away.   Since then,  I have managed to rack up 101 Dives,  and have worked my way through several certification agencies PADI, SSI, and SDI all the way up to Divemaster Certification.

So….Case Zer0,  funnily enough Case Zero didnt happen on my first scuba outing with my frequent  diving buddy Rick.  It was our  third outing in 2010 on the Island of  Tioman on the peninsular side of Malaysia(I will write about our experiences  there in detail with photoes in another Blog entry at a later date).  Rick and I had about 15 dives together so far at that point, with both totalling about 20 dives,  so we werent exactly the MOST experienced divers but we knew our limits and was there to build on what we knew and to practice everything we had learnt. 

It was our  2nd dive at a local site named Rengiss,  and there were a couple of Discover Scuba Divers(DSD) with us on the boat,  and we thought nothing of it, we chatted, and told them of our great experiences so far diving, and wished them a good dive… down we went….

towards the end of the dive… we met up with the DSD’s… and I couldnt help but notice, that with the divemaster holding their tank valves and swimming for them, the two DSDs had their arms outstretched moving in slow motion…. I immediately turned to Rick my buddy and made a long Moaning/Groaning ZOMBIE like noise through my regulator whilst pointing at the pair of DSD.  Ricks mask flooded with a blast of bubbles as he came as close to bursting out with laughter underwater as you could.  I told him to take a photo and video if he could,  and ill try to post that later I need to sort through my archives. 

Ever since that day,  we have dreamed of doing something with the name Zombie Diver,  as not only do a lot of newb divers(including Rick and I) probably looked like Zombies flailing about underwater,  Diving is the only thing on our minds most of the time… much like a Zombie who thinks only about brains…We think only about being underwater.

That much being said, whats this blog going to be about.  Well Scuba mainly,   I hope to write trip reports on all trips that I go on, and I will also put up trip reports on trips I’ve already been on Prior to the creation of this blog.  I hope to help others get into the sport of scuba diving on a budget as we are always on a shoestring budget.   

 Rick and Myself are also Enthusiastic Amateur Underwater Photographers, and I am starting to get into Videography and editing with my new toy the GoPro HD and Eye of Mine housing so stay tuned for Photos and VIdeos!

So thats about it, Stay tuned for more posts and photos of Dives from Previous Trips.

Leave a comment